top of page

The Island Side of Me // A I T U T A K I , C I


Araua Enua, or Aitutaki as its more commonly known, is one of 15 islands in the Cook Islands found in the South Pacific Ocean. Part of the southern group of islands, it is the second most visited island in the Cook Islands. Jump on a pretty expensive 45 min plane ride from Rarotonga and you come across a lagoon cluttered in motus (islets). As you fly over the lagoon it lights up in variations of turquoise, blues and greens. The trees sway in the wind and the sandbars rise and fall under the water. If it's your first time, the view is absolutely stunning. For me, its a mixture of being blown away by the beauty and the feeling of comfort knowing I'm home.

And yes, I am lucky enough to also call this beautiful island home.

I visited Aitutaki with my grandparents, aunties, twin cousins and sister. We flew from the beginning of autumn New Zealand to the hot and humid Cook Islands. Our week was full of relaxation, in the water, on the beach and at home. We spent alot of time between our house that is in the middle of the island and my mama's sisters property with our own private beach. Then there were the scooter rides around the island, which might I add, is the cause of my multiple sunburns.

Then there is the underwater world found in the lagoon. Full of friendly brightly coloured fish and an excessive amount of sea cucumbers.

And then there was all the mini photoshoot opportunities and my sisters cute baby bump.

And if you couldn't find us at the beach we were here, at the house my dad built in the village of Arutanga. You can see Araura college and primary school that myself and my siblings attended while we lived here.

A relative of ours invited us to a fundraiser event where we were treated to an amazing dinner and gorgeous island night. At the end of their item they did round the world, where the dancers go out in the crowd and pick someone to dance with them. They asked for my cousin but he was too shy so I "took one for the team" and got up there to represent the HAMCIA family.

And finally the gorgeous night sky!

This little island is the land of my forefathers. This is where my grandparents came from. Where I come from. I am so grateful to my grandparents for creating the life they have for their future. This island is beautiful but it isn't much, and like many "immigrants", they really have made a beautiful life in New Zealand for us. Thank you my mama and papa for coming from this paradise and blessing me with all the history and culture that is Aitutaki, Cook Islands.

"Far across the sea,

There lies an Island,

Aitutaki,

Paradise."

100% recommend this place.

Ps. You found Lydia xx


START

EXPLORING

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

MADE BY LYDIA

INSTAGRAM

LATEST POSTS

bottom of page